Idaho’s Pacemaker history for newspapers

Deadline for several NSPA contests is June 12

The entry deadline for the National Scholastic Press Association’s Newspaper Pacemaker contest is June 12.

The Pacemaker is the highest award the NSPA gives to its members. The newspaper contest is open to broadsheets, tabloids, newsmagazines, and junior high or middle school newspapers. There is not an entry fee, but publications have to be a member of the NSPA to compete.

Entries need to include five issues published between Aug. 1, 2014 and June 5, 2015.

Winners are announced at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention on Nov. 12-15 in Orlando.

NSPA has presented Pacemakers since 1927. NSPA’s website only has records of past Newspaper winners dating back to 1993. Idaho has had three high school newspapers achieve the status in that time.

Westside Story
Skyline High School
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Maeve Connor, editor
Courtney Morgan, adviser

Rigby High School
Rigby, Idaho
Joshua Foster, editor
Robert Beck, adviser

Knightly News
Hillcrest High School
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Jim Kittle, Adviser
Jennie Austin, Michelle Wendt, Editors

June 12 is also the deadline for the NSPA’s Individual Awards. Students can submit entries in several categories for photography, design, cartooning, writing and multimedia. There is no entry fee for NSPA members. Non-members will be billed.