Idaho well represented at Denver convention

Idaho Falls student wins Superior in JEA Write-Offs


Photo by William Love

Idaho had nine student journalists win awards in the JEA’s Write-Off competitions at the Denver Convention. Sandpoint High School (pictured) had six students win awards.

By William Love

Idaho Falls High School photographer Luke Whitbeck led a strong showing for Idaho student journalists at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in Denver.

Whitbeck earned the highest honor of Superior for his Yearbook Student Life Photography in the JEA’s Write-Off contests. That was not the only award for Idaho Falls High School. Brandon Rhoades won an Excellent rating in the First-Year Photo category.

Borah High School’s Hana Krogness received an Honorable Mention in Sports Writing. Sandpoint High School, meanwhile had six students receive Write-Off awards. They included:

  • Darbey Scrimsher, Honorable Mention, Graphic Design: Infographic
  • Sarah Wells, Honorable Mention, Newsmagazine: Layout
  • Caroline Suppiger, Honorable Mention, Literary Magazine: Layout
  • Violet Plummer, Honorable Mention, Yearbook Copy/Caption: Student Life
  • Greer Cole and Alex Lantz, Excellent, Broadcast Commercial / PSA

Nearly 1,000 students participated in the Write-Off competition, with 407 students earning awards. The complete list of Denver winners is available here.

Sandpoint High School’s student-run newspaper Cedar Post also received two awards in the NSPA’s Best of Show competition. The Cedar Post was seventh in the category for Broadsheet Newspaper of 16 pages or fewer. The newspaper’s website,, was ninth for Small School websites.

The complete results for the Best of Show competitions are available here.