It’s never too early to plan for Journalist of the Year competition


Students attended the annual Idaho Journalism Day in Boise to learn more about the JOY contest.

Michelle Harmon, President, ISJA

SEvery year, the Idaho Student Journalism Association calls for state Journalist of the Year (JOY) entries.  This year’s deadline is Feb. 17, 2017.

State winners, like 2016 recipient Sarah Wells from Sandpoint, receive $100.  More importantly, their winning entries are entered in the national Journalism Education Association (JEA) competition.

Prior to two years ago, the process required a hard-copy portfolio.  However, everything now takes place on-line, including the state application (which mirrors exactly what is expected for the national entry).

Examples from last year’s winning state entries can be found at  State and national membership in ISJA and JEA is required for entry.  See the ISJA membership tab for more information, or contact [email protected]