National recognition

Idaho student journalists recognized for talents at Los Angeles convention

Idaho student journalist have received national recognition for their work.

Two publications were awarded Best of Show certificates at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in Los Angeles. The Spud Annual of Idaho Falls High School finished 10th for Yearbooks 232 or Fewer Pages, while the Cedar Post (Sandpoint High School) placed third in Newspaper Broadsheet 16 or Fewer Pages.

Idaho also had eight students win individual awards in the JEA Write-Off contests.

  • Kelly Curtis, Sandpoint High School, Excellent, Feature Writing
  • Cooper King, Sandpoint High School, Excellent, Newspaper: Layout
  • Kathryn Gibbons, Mountain Home High School, Honorable Mention, Photo Story
  • Megan Murray, Sandpoint High School, Honorable Mention, Graphic Design: Infographic
  • Logan Finney, Sandpoint High School, Honorable Mention, Video Package Editing
  • Ben Bristow, Sandpoint High School, Honorable Mention, YB Layout: Inside Pages
  • Caroline Suppiger, Sandpoint High School, Honorable Mention: Literary Magazine: Layout
  • Oakley Pettit, Sandpoint High School, Honorable Mention, Sports Writing